Heel and Toe: Lopez almost breaks 38mins for 10000m

Wow, it’s a tough call this week with some great performances to consider:

70 year old Victorian walker Andrew Jamieson won his division of the Victorian Masters 10km roadwalk at Middle Park on Saturday with an M70 World Record time of 53:17, bettering both Tom Daintry’s 1981 Australian record of 54:17 and Arthur Thomson’s 2007 World Record of 53:32. A few weeks ago, Andrew set a new M70 20km World Record with a tiem of 1:52:35. This time it is the 10km that falls to him – and I am sure that he has other M70 records in his sights!

Our Australian representatives at the IAAF World Junior Championships in Poland competed in their 10km events last week and all performed admirably, with results as follows

U20 Women:
13. Clara Smith AUS 98 46:59.96
19. Tayla-Paige Billington AUS 97 48:32.33

U20 Men:
12. Tyler Jones AUS 98 42:02.96 PB 0:20
16. Adam Garganis AUS 97 42:22.96 PB 0:02

But I have to choose my Walker of the Week and it has to go to Andrew Jamieson – he has been setting new standards within the Masters divisions ever since M50, and he shows no signs of stopping any time soon. Well done Andrew!

Raquel Gonzalez and Miguel Angel Lopez were in superb form in winning the 10,000m track walks at the Spanish T&F
Championships last weekend in Gijon, Spain.

10,000m Women Track Walk
The women’s race saw a solo effort by Raquel Gonzalez who won the title with a new Spanish record of 42:14.12. Second place went to Beatriz Pascual with 42:35.89 while Julia Takacs, the previous record holder, was third with 43:55.70. The previous record of 42:23:37 had been set in 2014. A very impressive set of results.
1. GONZALEZ Raquel FC Barcelona 1989 42:14.12
2. ASCUAL Beatriz Valencia Atletismo 1982 42:35.69
3. TAKACS Julia Playas de Castellon 1989 43:55.70
4. PEREZ Maria Valencia Atletismo 1996 44:13.83
5. POVES Maria Jose Simply-Scorpio 71 1978 45:28.58
6. GARCIA-CARO Laura Atmo. Ciudad de Lepe 1995 45:41.63
7. PINEDO Ainhoa A.D. Marathon 1983 45:44.53
8. LARIOS Maria A.D. Marathon 1992 46:08.91
9. CANO Amanda UCAM-Athleo Cieza 1994 46:23.72
10. SANCHEZ-PUEBLA Lidia Playas de Castellon 1996 46:51.70
11. CABRE Andrea Playas de Castellon 1988 49:47.00
12. TUR Eva Maria Peña Santa Eulalia 1990 50:04.35

10,000m Walk Track Walk
Miguel Angel Lopez also led from start to finish in the men’s race, wnning with a 2016 world leading time of 38:06.28. Alvaro Martin, who was second, walked a PB to 39:23.51 while bronze medallist Alberto Amezcuaalso PB’d with 39:29.00. Lopez’s time is the 4th fastest of all time, behind Francisco Fernandez (ESP, 37:53.09, 2008), – Ivano Brugnetti (ITA, 37:58.6, 2005) and Jozef Pribilinec (CZE, 38:02.60, 1985). Again, a hugely impressive set of results.

1. LOPEZ Miguel Angel UCAM Murcia 1988 38:06.28
2. MARTIN Alvaro Playas de Castellon 1994 39:23.51
3. AMEZCUA Luis Alberto Juventud Guadix 1992 39:29.00
4. PAJUELO Ivan A.D. Marathon 1993 40:16.98
5. CORCHETE Luis Manuel Atletismo Torrevieja 1984 41:05.80
6. GARCIA Diego A.D. Marathon 1996 42:38.88
7. VIÑAS Mario AA Catalunya 1996 42:49.57
8. FLOREZ Alex S.G. Pontevedra 1971 43:39.59
9. SILLERO Mario Real Sociedad 1990 43:47.24
10. OLIVA Pablo Cueva de Nerja-UMA 1996 43:58.79
11. DIAZ Jose Ignacio FC Barcelon 1979 44:53.45
12. CUROPOS Christian CA Fent Cami Mislata 1994 45:59.17
13. ODRIOZOLA Mikel Real Sociedad 1973 46:12.08
14. MONTERRUBIO Marcos Atletismo Alcorcon 1981 47:23.96

Download the Full Heel and Toe Edition

Photo from Miguel Angel Lopez Fan Page – Follow the World Champion

Previous Spencer's Corner: Reflection on last weeks post
Next Spencer’s Corner: Race Walking Can Grow!

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of