GC2018 Updates


The Commonwealth Games, Gold Coast, Australia, starts on the 4th of April 2018. Tickets for the Games go on sale today

General information about the Games sourced from this site –

The 20km race walk for men and women will be a free event on 8 April 2018 held along the Currumbin Beach front, on the Gold Coast.

“The GC2018 sport program will include 19 sports and para-sports: Athletics Gymnastics Table Tennis Badminton Hockey Triathlon Basketball Lawn Bowls Weightlifting Beach Netball Wrestling Volleyball Rugby Sevens Boxing Shooting Cycling Squash Diving Swimming.”


Gold Coast – most of the sports
🚩Commonwealth Games Village
Carrara Indoor Stadium
Broadbeach Bowls Club
Carrara Sports and Leisure Centre
Carrara Sports Precinct
Carrara Stadium
Coomera Indoor Sports Centre
Elanora/Currumbin Valley
Gold Coast Aquatic Centre
Gold Coast Hockey Centre
Nerang Mountain Bike Trails
Oxenford Studios
Robina Stadium
Southport Broadwater Parklands

Brisbane – shooting
🚩Belmont Shooting Centre

Townsville – primarily for basketball
🚩Townsville Entertainment and Convention Centre

Cairns – basketball and cycling
🚩Cairns Convention Centre
🚩Anna Meares Velodrome

“In addition to the sport will be a festival of the arts –
“The program will feature a wide range of creative activities and events, generating a festive atmosphere during Games time throughout the Gold Coast and in our three event cities – Brisbane, Townsville and Cairns.

Spilling out from the stadiums, people will encounter arts and cultural events that capture the energy of the Games, showcase local talent, and reflect diverse abilities, perspectives and cultures.”

Commonwealth nations make up 30% of the world’s population and the Games were first held 1930 in Hamilton, Canada. The Commonwealth Games are often referred to as the Friendly Games and are used to inspire and connect millions of people around the world. Commonwealth countries are;

Africa, Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia Americas Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Falkland Islands, Guyana, St Helena Asia Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka Caribbean Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands Europe Cyprus, England, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Malta, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales Oceania Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu”

The Commonwealth Games, Queens Baton Relay has already passed through Rwanda, Uganda, Mauritius and the Seychelles https://www.gc2018.com/article/seychelles-sea-change-baton

Previous Naumburg Racewalking Carnival, Naumburg 2017
Next European Race Walking Cup Podebrady 2017, PODEBRADY

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of